Lunch Challenge

 

Aw a wife, my life sometimes changes solely by what my husband is doing. I came here in rainy Hillsboro, Oregon following him with new job. You can imagine how I feel about moving from sunny Florida to all the way to forested Portlandia. But don’t get me wrong because I like here. I like friendly DMV people, new big Korean grocery store, many trees, diverse food and commutable IKEA.  It is rainy but I was already ready to accept this only because I got many warnings from people before I came here.

Anyway, I began to pack his lunch at work from two weeks ago. Although it has not been easy to get at 6 every morning, his colleagues’ occasional compliments on his lunch box give me more volunteer spirit to do this task. So this time I went to Uwajimaya Japanese grocery store in Beaverton and bought a piece of salmon for sushi. One thing, by the way, you should know when you want to make sushi is that you got to get a fish for sushi not just raw fish. There are certain kind of fish not eligible for sushi and sushi fish is already quickly handled in ocean and frozen to kill bacteria. In addition to that, you don’t want to put sushi fish in refrigerator more than a day because temperature is not cold enough to keep fish from bad bacteria.

With steam rice seasoned with vinegar and little bit of sugar and salt, you can make your own sushi. Little bit of wasabi doesn’t hurt. Make your family proud at lunch time, or make feel good about yourself  like me~

 

 

 

About oijee

I am a foodie(don't even dare to ask about definition of foodie :) and Korean. Thinking and loving food is becoming my life. Anybody who loves food is welcome here!

Leave a Reply

